The 2015 UCI Road World Championships are coming to Richmond, September 19-27. The courses will pass in front of the Library and will affect Library access. The Library’s lobby, exhibition, and the Virginia Shop will be open; the reading rooms and parking deck will be closed from September 21 through 25 and the entire Library will be closed on September 26. Please check our online calendar and for more details.

[search options]

Albemarle County

Formation Date: 1744
Formed From: Goochland County. Parts of Louisa County were added in 1761 and 1838

Image depicting location of Albemarle County
Albemarle County was named for William Anne Keppel, second earl of Albemarle and governor of the Virginia colony from 1737 to 1754. It was formed from Goochland County in 1744, and part of Louisa County and certain islands in the Fluvanna River, now called the James, were added in 1761 and 1838. It area is 740 square miles, and the county seat is Charlottesville. The population is 79,236 according to the 2000 census.

Note: All order books except the first and all loose papers were destroyed in Tarleton's raid on Charlottesville in 1781.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes