Grayson County

Formation Date: 1792
Formed From: Wythe County. Part of Patrick County was added in 1810.

Image depicting location of Grayson County
Grayson County was named for William Grayson, a delegate to the Continental Congress from 1784 to 1787 and one of the first two United States senators from Virginia. It was formed from Wythe County in 1792, and a part of Patrick County was added in 1810. Its area is 454 square miles, and the county seat is Independence. According to the 2000 census, its population is 17,917.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes

facebook twitter flicker youtube tumbler tumbler pinterest instagram view more