Loudoun County

Formation Date: 1757
Formed From: Fairfax County

Image depicting location of Loudoun County
Loudoun County was named for John Campbell, fourth earl of Loudoun, who was commander of British forces in North America during the early portion of the French and Indian War and governor of Virginia from 1756 to 1759. It was formed from Fairfax County in 1757. Its area is 512 square miles, and the county seat is Leesburg. According to the 2000 census, the population is 169,599.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes

facebook twitter flicker youtube tumbler tumbler pinterest instagram view more