Smyth County

Formation Date: 1832
Formed From: Washington and Wythe Counties

Image depicting location of Smyth County
Smyth County was named for Alexander Smyth, a congressman from Virginia in 1832 when the county was formed from Washington and Wythe counties. Its area is 435 square miles, and the county seat is Marion. The population is 33,081 according to the 2000 census.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes

facebook twitter flicker youtube tumbler tumbler pinterest instagram view more