Wise County

Formation Date: 1856
Formed From: Lee, Russell, and Scott Counties

Image depicting location of Wise County
Wise County was named for Henry Alexander Wise, governor of Virginia from 1856 to 1860. It was formed in 1856 from Lee, Scott, and Russell Counties. Its area is 404 square miles, and the county seat is Wise. The population is 40,123 according to the 2000 census.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes

facebook twitter flicker youtube tumbler tumbler pinterest instagram view more