[search options]

County and City Formations and Records Availability for Accomack through Augusta County

The following entries for Virginia's counties and cities include: the county's date of formation or the city's date of establishment, the parent county or counties that formed the new county or the date of incorporation for the city, and whether The Library of Virginia houses microfilm and original records for that locality. Following the hyperlink under "County" or "Independent City" will direct you to a map page indicating its location within the state and provide further background information on its history. Following the "Microfilm Available at The Library of Virginia" link will direct you to the county's or city's microfilm holdings page in the Guide to Virginia County and City Records On Microfilm. Please see main page for information on arrangement and searching of microfilmed records. For information on original locality records housed at The Library of Virginia please contact Archives Reference Services.

A | B | C | D-E | F | G |H | I-J-K | L |
M | N | O-P | R | S | T-W-Y |
Cities A-D | Cities E-H | Cities L-P |Cities R-W

County Date of formation Parent County or Counties Microfilm available at
The Library of Virginia
Originals records available at
The Library of Virginia
Accomack County 1663 Northampton. Previous Names: Accawmack, Accomac (original shire), Northampton (1643).  Yes Yes
Albemarle County 1744 Goochland. Parts of Louisa County were added in 1761 and 1838. Yes Yes
Alexandria County (extinct) 1789 Fairfax County. Became part of District of Columbia in 1801. Became part of Virginia again in 1846 and renamed Arlington County in 1920. No.
See Arlington County.
Alleghany County 1822 Bath, Botetourt, and Monroe (West Virginia) Counties. Additional part of Bath County added in 1823 and additional part of Monroe County (West Virginia) added in 1843. Yes Yes
Amelia County 1734 Prince George and Brunswick Counties. Yes Yes
Amherst County 1761 Albemarle County. Yes Yes
Appomattox County 1845 Buckingham, Prince Edward, Charlotte, and Campbell Counties. Additional part of Campbell County added in 1858. Yes No
Arlington County 1920 Fairfax County. Alexandria County, Virginia from 1789 to 1801, Alexandria County, District of Columbia from 1801 to 1846, Alexandria County, Virginia from 1846 to 1920. Yes Yes
Augusta County 1738
Orange County. Augusta's government was established in 1745. Yes Yes

A | B | C | D-E | F | G |H | I-J-K | L
M | N | O-P | R | S | T-W-Y |
Cities A-D | Cities E-H | Cities L-P |Cities R-W