LVA Website   Catalog [search options]

Maps and Formation Information for Tazewell through York Counties

Tazewell CountyTazewell County was named for Henry Tazewell, U.S. senator from Virginia from 1794 until his death in 1799.  It was formed from Wythe and Russell Counties in 1799.  Parts of Russell County were added in 1807 and 1835, parts of Washington and Wythe Counties were added in 1826, and part of Logan County (West Virginia) was added in 1834.  Its area is 522 square miles, and the county seat is Tazewell.  [Back]

Upper Norfolk CountyUpper Norfolk County was established in 1637.  In 1646, it was renamed Nansemond County for the area's Nansemond Indians.  The county seat was Suffolk.  The county became the independent city of Nansemond in 1972, and in 1974, Nansemond merged with the city of Suffolk.  The entire area is now known as Suffolk. [Back]

Warren CountyWarren County was named for Joseph Warren, the revolutionary patriot who sent Paul Revere and William Dawes on their famous rides and who was killed at the Battle of Bunker Hill.  The county was formed from Frederick and Shenandoah counties in 1836.  Its area is 214 square miles, and the county seat is Front Royal. [Back]

Warrosquyoake CountyWarrosquyoake County was named for the Indian tribe.  It was formed in 1634 as one of the original eight shires.  In 1637 it was renamed Isle of Wight County. [Back]

Warwick CountyWarwick County was originally called Warwick River County when it was formed as one of the original eight shires in 1634.  The shorter name was adopted in 1643.  It was named either for Robert Rich, earl of Warwick, a prominent member of the London Company, or for the county of Warwick in England.  Warwick County became extinct in 1952, when it became the city of Warwick.  The new city was consolidated with the city of Newport News in 1958 and took the latter's name.  Denbigh was the county seat. [Back]

Washington CountyWashington County is the first locality in the United States known to have been named for George Washington.  It was formed from Fincastle County in 1776, and a part of Montgomery County was added in 1777.  Its area is 563 square miles, and the county seat is Abingdon. [Back]

Westmoreland CountyWestmoreland County was named for the English county.  It was formed from Northumberland County in 1653, and part of King George County was added in 1777.  Its area is 229 square miles, and the county seat is Montross.   [Back]

Wise CountyWise County was named for Henry Alexander Wise, governor of Virginia from 1856 to 1860.  It was formed in 1856 from Lee, Scott, and Russell Counties.  Its area is 404 square miles, and the county seat is Wise.  [Back]

Wythe CountyWythe County was named for George Wythe, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and chancellor of Virginia in 1789 when Wythe County was formed from Montgomery County.  Part of Grayson County was added in 1825.  Its area is 463 square miles, and the county seat is Wytheville.  [Back]

York CountyYork County was originally named Charles River County, for Charles I, and was one of the eight shires formed in 1634.  The present name was given in 1643, probably in honor of James, duke of York, the second son of Charles I.  Its area is 106 square miles, and the county seat is Yorktown.  [Back