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CONDITIONS FOR RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

This schedule is continuing authority under the provisions of the 7. The retentions and dispositions listed on the attached page(s) apply
Virginia Public Records Act, §§ 42.1-76, et. seq. of the Code of regardless of physical format, i.e., paper, microfiim, electronic
Virginia for the retention and disposition of the records as stated on storage, optical imaging, etc. Unless prohibited by law, records
the attached page(s). may be reformatted at agency or locality discretion. Microfilming

. . . must be done in accordance with §§ 17VAC15-20-10, et. seq. of the
l?;\segg?ezdme supersedes previously approved applicable Virginia Administrative Code, "Standards for the Microfilming of

‘ Public Records for Archival Retention."
This schedule is used in conjunction with the Certificate of Records 8. Custodians of records must ensure that information in confidential
gg?;ﬁ:{ég?;?ogg?%cg2?126:;1%:\2-% ﬁisgg:nigpg?\{fga%the or privacy protected records is protected from unquthorized
before records can be destroyed. After the records are destroyed disclosure through' the uitimate de_structio_n of the information.
the original signed RM-3 must bé sent to Library of Virginia (LV. A)’ Normally, destruction of confidential or privacy-protected records
‘ will be done by shredding or pulping. "Deletion”" of confidential or

Any records created before the Constitution of 1902 came into privacy-protected information in computer files or other electronic
effect (January 1, 1904) must be offered, in writing, fo the LVA storage media is not acceptable. Electronic records must be
before applying these disposition instructions. Offered records can "wiped" clean or the storage media physically destroyed.
be destroyed 60 days after date of the offer if no response is 9. Under the Virginia Public Records Act, (§ 42.1-79) the Library of

received from the LVA. A copy of the offer must be attached to the
RM-3 form when it is submitted to the LVA.

All known audits and audit discrepancies regarding the listed
records must be settled before the records can be destroyed.

All known investigations or court cases involving the listed records
must be resolved before the records can be destroyed. Knowledge
of subpoenas, investigations or litigation that reasonably may
involve the listed records suspends any disposal or reformatting
processes until all issues are resolved.

Virginia is the official custodian and trustee of all state agency
records transferred to the Archives, Library of Virginia. The Library
may purge select records in accordance with professional archival
practices in order to ensure efficient access.
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RECORDS SERIES AND DESCRIPTION

SERIES NUMBER SCHEDULED RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

Clients' Protection Fund Petitions

This series documents payment or denial of petitions for
reimbursement from the Clients' Protection Fund. This fund
was established in 1976 for the purpose of making monetary
awards to individuals that have suffered financial losses as a
result of complaints of alleged dishonest conduct by Virginia
lawyers. Includes petitions and other supporting
documentation such as correspondence, copies of cancelled
checks, etc. Refer to Code of Virginia §54.1-3913.1.

008003 Retain 15 years after reimbursement or denial of petition, then
destroy in compliance with No. 8 on schedule cover page.



