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vf'fﬁf EFFECTWE SCHEDULE DATE: JUNE 1, 1999

CONDITIONS FOR RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

ThIS schedule is continuing authority under the provisions of the Virginia

6.  All known investigations or court cases involving the listed records must
Public Records Act, §§ 42.1-76, et. seq. of the Code of Virginia for the be resolved before the records can be destroyed. Knowledge of
retention and disposition of the records as stated on the attached subpoenas, investigations or litigation that reasonably may involve the
page(s). listed records suspends any disposal or reformatting processes until all
issues are resolved.
This schedule supersedes previously approved applicable schedules.
7. The retentions and dispositions listed on the attached page(s) apply
This schedule is used in conjunction with the Certificate of Records regardiess of physical format, i.e., paper, microfilm, electronic storage,
Disposal (Form RM-3). A signed RM-3 must be approved by the optical imaging, etc. Microfilming must be done in accordance with §§
designated records officer and on file in the agency or locality before 17VAC15-20-10, et. seq. of the Virginia Administrative Code, "Standards
records can be destroyed. After the records are destroyed, the original for the Microfilming of Public Records for Archival Retention.”
signed RM-3 must be sent o Library of Virginia (LVA).
Custodians of records must ensure that information in confidential or

Any records created before the Constitution of 1902 came into effect

(January 1, 1904) must be offered, in writing, to the LVA before applying

these disposition instructions. Offered records can be destroyed 60
days after date of the offer if no response is received from the LVA. A
copy of the offer must be atftached to the RM-3 form when it is submitted
to the LVA.

All known audits and audit discrepanciés regarding the listed records
must be settled before the records can be destroyed.

privacy protected records is protected from unauthorized disclosure
through the ultimate destruction of the information. Normally,
destruction of confidential or privacy-protected records will be done by
shredding or puiping. "Deletion” of confidential or privacy-protected
information in computer files or other electronic storage media is not
acceptable. Electronic records must be "wiped" clean or the storage
media physically destroyed.
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RECORDS SERIES TITLE AND DESCRIPTION SERIES NUMBER SCHEDULED RETENTION AND DISPOSITION
Accredited Sponsor Files 100181 Retain 25 years, then destroy in compliance with No. 8
Documents the application and renewal of Mandatory Continuing on cover sheet.

Legal Education (MCLE) accredited sponsors. Includes original

application and biennial renewals.

Course Files - MCLE 100182 Retain 2 years, then destroy in compliance with No. 8
Documents application to the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education on cover sheet.

(MCLE) board for approval of Continuing Legal Education courses for

credit in Virginia. Includes (in paper format) original application with

required attachments and correspondence regarding approval.

Information maintained in Virginia State Bar Database.

Form 1 - End of Year Reports - MCLE 100183 Retain 3 years, then destroy in compliance with No. 8
Documents changes to official Mandatory Continuing Legal Education on cover sheet.

(MCLE) records of attorney. May include correspondence and 60-

day notice of suspension.

Individual Attorney MCLE Files 100184 Retain 15 years, then destroy in compliance with No. 8
Documents Mandatory Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) courses on cover sheet.

officially completed by attorneys from July 1, 1986 - June 30, 1989

that are maintained in paper. Records created after that period are

maintained in Virginia State Bar Database.

Suspension and Reinstatement Files - MCLE 100185 Retain 30 years on-site, then transfer to the State

Documents the suspension and reinstatement of attorneys for non-
compliance with the annual Mandatory Continuing Legal Education
(MCLE) requirement. Includes 60-day notice of suspension, notice of
suspension (Form 1), correspondence, certified mail return receipt or
returned mail.

Records Center for 20 years; then destroy in
compliance with No. 8 on cover sheet. Total retention
period 50 years.



