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CONDITIONS FOR RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

1. This schedule is continuing authority under the provisions of the Virginia 6.  All known investigations or court cases involving the listed records must be
Public Records Act, §§ 42.1-76, et. seq. of the Code of Virginia for the resolved before the records can be destroyed. Knowledge of subpoenas,
retention and disposition of the records as stated on the attached investigations or litigation that reasonably may involve the listed records suspends
page(s). any disposal or reformatting processes until all issues are resolved.
This schedule supersedes previously approved applicable schedules. 7. The retentions and dispositions listed on the attached page(s) apply regardless of

physical format, i.e., paper, microfilm, electronic storage, optical imaging, etc.
Unless prohibited by law, records may be reformatted at agency or locality
discretion. Microfilming must be done in accordance with §§ 17VAC15-20-10, et.
seq. of the Virginia Administrative Code, "Standards for the Microfilming of Public
Records for Archival Retention."

This schedule is used in conjunction with the Certificate of Records
Disposal (Form RM-3). A signed RM-3 must be approved by the
designated records officer and on file in the agency or locality before
records can be destroyed. After the records are destroyed, the original
signed RM-3 must be sent to Library of Virginia (LVA).

8. Custodians of records must ensure that information in confidential or privacy
protected records is protected from unauthorized disclosure through the ultimate
destruction of the information. Normally, destruction of confidential or privacy-
protected records will be done by shredding or pulping. "Deletion" of confidential
or privacy-protected information in computer files or other electronic storage media
is not acceptable. Electronic records must be "wiped" clean or the storage media
physically destroyed.

Under the Virginia Public Records Act, (§ 42.1-79) the Library of Virginia is the
official custodian and trustee of all state agency records transferred to the
Archives, Library of Virginia. The Library may purge select records in accordance
with professional archival practices in order to ensure efficient access.

4.  Any records created before the Constitution of 1902 came into effect
(January 1, 1904) must be offered, in writing, to the LVA before applying
these disposition instructions. Offered records can be destroyed 60
days after date of the offer if no response is received from the LVA. A
copy of the offer must be attached to the RM-3 form when it is
submitted to the LVA.

5. All known audits and audit discrepancies regarding the listed records 9
must be settled before the records can be destroyed. '
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RECORDS SERIES AND DESCRIPTION

SERIES NUMBER SCHEDULED RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

Applications for Redqister of Corporate Name

This series consists of applications for reservation
of corporate name and the Commission’s actions in
response to the application. Reservations hold the
name for 120 days while corporate charter is being
applied for. Refer to Code of Virginia, § 13.1-631.

005444 Retain 3 years, then destroy.



