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CONDITIONS FOR RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

This schedule is continuing authority under the provisions of the 6.  All known investigations or court cases involving the listed records must be

Virginia Public Records Act, §§ 42.1-76, et. seq. of the Code of resolved before the records can be destroyed. Knowledge of subpoenas,

Virginia for the retention and disposition of the records as stated on investigations or litigation that reasonably may involve the listed records

the attached page(s). suspends any disposal or reformatting processes until all issues are resolved.

This schedule supersedes previously approved applicable 7. The retentions and dispositions listed on the attached page(s) apply

schedules. regardless of physical format, i.e., paper, microfilm, electronic storage, optical
' imaging, etc. Microfilming must be done in accordance with Virginia

This schedule is used in conjunction with the Certificate of Records Administrative Code, §§ 17VAC15-20-10, et. seq, "Standards for the

Destruction (Form RM-3). A signed RM-3 must be approved by the Microfilming of Public Records for Archival Retention."

designated records officer and on file in the agency or locality before

records can be destroyed. After the records are destroyed, the 8.  Custodians of records must ensure that information in confidential or privacy

original signed RM-3 must be sent to Library of Virginia (LVA). protected records is protected from unauthorized disclosure through the

ultimate destruction of the information. Normally, destruction of confidential or

Any records created before the Constitution of 1802 came into effect privacy-protected records will be done by shredding or pulping. "Deletion” of

(January 1, 1904) must be offered, in writing, to the LVA before confidential or privacy-protected information in computer files or other

applying these disposition instructions. Offered records can be electronic storage media is not acceptable. Electronic records must be

destroyed 60 days after date of the offer if no response is received “wiped" clean or the storage media physically destroyed.

from the LVA. A copy of the offer must be attached to the RM-3

form when it is submitted to the LVA. 9. Under the Virginia Public Records Act, (§ 42.1-79) the Library of Virginia is the

All known audits and audit discrepancies regarding the listed
records must be settled before the records can be destroyed.

official custodian and trustee of all state agency records transferred to the
Archives, Library of Virginia. The Library may purge select records in
accordance with professional archival practices in order to ensure efficient
access.



COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

m} THE LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA

RECORDS MANAGEMENT AND IMAGING SERVICES DIVISION

RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE
SPECIFIC SCHEDULE NO. 171-217
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

(Form Ri-2 Aug 55) BUREAU OF INSURANCE

PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
EFFECTIVE SCHEDULE DATE: xﬁé‘j‘?& Ve PAGE 2 OF 2 PAGES
RECORDS SERIES TITLE AND DESCRIPTION SERIES NUMBER SCHEDULED RETENTION AND DISPOSITION
Annual Report of Virginia Commercial Liability Claims 005021 Retain 5 years after receipt, then destroy in compliance with
This series documents the reporting of specified commercial fiability claims No. 8 on schedule cover page.
as required by Code of Virginia, § 38.2-2228.1.
Supplemental Reports for Certain Lines or Subclassifications of Liability 005022 Retain 5 years after receipt, then destroy in compliance with

Insurance

No. 8 on schedule cover page.

This series consists of supplemental reports filed by liability insurers as
required by Code of Virginia, § 38.2-1950.1 and 38.2-117 through 118.



