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RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE
SPECIFIC SCHEDULE NO. 601-186

AGENCY: Department of Health

DIVISION: Home Health

SUBUNIT:

This schedule is continuing authority under the provisions of the Virginia Public Records Act, §§42.1-76 et seq. Code of Virginia, for
the retention and disposition of the records as stated. This schedule supersedes previously approved applicable schedules.
Request approval on Form RM-3, Certificate of Records Disposal, before the destruction of record series noted in this schedule.
Any records created prior to the Constitution of 1902 must first be offered to the LVA before applying these disposition instructions.
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This revision amends retention periods listed in series 1, 3 and 5. Current federal
Medicaid/Medicare contracts require longer retention periods than those listed in GS-102.
This schedule supersedes retentions listed in GS-102 for only the items listed below.

1. Patient Activity File (Batches) Retain 5 years after month cost report is filed with

OIS <K intermediary, then destroy by shredding or
pulping.
2. Medicare and Medicaid Billings Retain 7 years after cost report is filed with
(Accounts receivable) intermediary or until audited, whichever is greater,

Q\$O23 then destroy by shredding or pulping.

3.  Patient Records (Charts) Retain 5 years after cost report is filed with
O1SOR m intermediary or until audited, whichever is greater,

then destroy by shredding or pulping.

4.  Paylists (Reimbursements) Retain 7 years after cost report is filed with
S0% € intermediary or until audited, whichever is greater,
O\ then destroy by shredding or pulping.

5.  Statistical Reports O\So 7 (6 Retain 5 years after cost report is filed with
intermediary or until audited, whichever is greater,
then destroy by shredding or pulping.



