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POLICIES FOR RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION

This schedule is continuing authority under the provisions of the 7. The retentions and dispositions listed on the attached page(s) apply

Virginia Public Records Act, §§ 42.1-76, et. seq. of the Code of regardless of physical format, i.e., paper, microfilm, electronic

Virginia for the retention and disposition of the records as stated on storage, optical imaging, etc. Unless prohibited by law, records

the attached page(s). may be reformatted at agency or locality discretion. Microfilming

This schedule supersedes previously approved applicable must be done ip accordance with §§ 17VAC15-20-.10, get seq. of the

schedules Virginia Administrative Code, "Standards for the Microfilming of

’ Public Records for Archival Retention.”
E?;?Jj;:ﬁ?:tgrenf;l\sfg)m /f: Z?éi’;‘ét'g?ﬂgt?nzhg gsglpﬁgfotse%fg/ efhogds 8. Custodians of records must insure that information in confidential or
desi . ) . privacy protected records is protected from unauthorized disclosure
esignated records officer and on file in the agency or locality : - : .

before records can be destroyed. After the records are destroyed through ! he ultimate degtructnor) of the information. Norm_aﬂy,

the original signed RM-3 must bé sent to Library of Virginia (LV A)' destruction of confidential or privacy-protected records will be done
) by shredding or pulping. "Deletion" of confidential or privacy-

Any records created before the Constitution of 1902 came into protected information in computer files or other electronic storage

effect (January 1, 1904) must be offered, in writing, to the LVA media is not acceptable. Electronic records must be "wiped" clean

before applying these disposition instructions. Offered records can or the storage media physically destroyed.

be destroyed 60 days after date of the offer if no response is 9. Under the Virginia Public Records Act, (§ 42.1-79) the Library of

received from the LVA. A copy of the offer must be attached to the
RM-3 form when it is submitted to the LVA.

All known audits and audit discrepancies regarding the listed
records must be settled before the records can be destroyed.

All known investigations or court cases involving the listed records
must be resolved before the records can be destroyed. Knowledge
of subpoenas, investigations or litigation that reasonably may
involve the listed records suspends any disposal or reformatting
processes until all issues are resolved.

Virginia is the official custodian and trustee of all state agency
records transferred to the Archives, Library of Virginia. The Library
may purge select records in accordance with professional archival
practices in order to ensure efficient access.
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Behavioral Services Unit Files

This series provides the supporting documentation to the
psychological evaluations that are conducted on each juvenile
offender. The evaluation becomes a part of the juvenile
offender case file while this supporting documentation is
retained by the Behavioral Services Unit. This series consists
of a copy of the psychological evaluation, test data, score
sheets, psychologist's interview notes, and other supporting
documentation.

007031

Retain in the agency until the juvenile attains the age of 21
years, then transfer to the State Records Center for 10 years,
then destroy in compliance with No. 8 on the schedule cover
page. See Code of Virginia 42-1-79.1 and the Virginia
Administrative Code 18-125-20-150.13.



