Isle of Wight County

Formation Date: 1634 (original shire)
Formed From: Part of Nansemond County was added in 1769
Previous Names: Warrosquyoake from 1634 to 1637

Image depicting location of Isle of Wight County
Isle of Wight County was most likely named for the Isle of Wight off the south coast of England. It was first known as Warrosquyoake and was one of the eight shires established in 1634. The present name was given in 1637. Part of Nansemond County was added in 1769. Its area is 319 square miles, and the county seat is Isle of Wight. According to the 2000 census, its population is 29,728.

Note: Most pre–Revolutionary War–era loose records are missing.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes

facebook twitter youtube instagram view more