Dickenson County

Formation Date: 1880
Formed From: Buchanan, Russell, and Wise Counties

Image depicting location of Dickenson County
Dickenson County was named for William J. Dickenson, delegate to the General Assembly from Russell County in 1880 when Dickenson was formed from Wise, Russell, and Buchanan Counties. Its area is 355 square miles, and its county seat is Clintwood. According to the 2000 census, its population is 16,395.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: No

facebook twitter flicker youtube tumbler tumbler pinterest instagram view more