Retention Schedules

Under Code of Virginia § 42.1-85, the Library of Virginia (LVA) has the authority to issue regulations governing the retention and disposition of state and local public records. In keeping with the Code's mandate, LVA has developed records retention and disposition schedules outlining the disposition of public records.

Under this policy, the LVA issues two types of schedules. General schedules apply to the records of common functions performed by or for all localities and state agencies. Specific schedules apply to records that are unique to an individual state agency.

Before a state agency or locality can destroy public records:

  • A records officer for your organization must be designated in writing by completing and filing a Records Officer Designation and Responsibilities (RM-25 Form) with the Library of Virginia.
  • Records to be destroyed must be covered by a Library of Virginia-approved general or specific records retention and disposition schedule and the retention period for the records must have expired.
  • All investigations, litigation, required audits, and Virginia Freedom of Information Act requests must be completed or fulfilled.
  • The organization’s designated records officer and an approving official must authorize destructionby completing a Certificate of Records Destruction (RM-3 Form) prior to the records being destroyed.

When a new schedule is approved, it supersedes all previously issued versions of the schedule.

General Schedules for Localities

General Schedules for State Agencies

Specific Schedules for State Agencies

facebook twitter youtube instagram linkedin