How to get a Library Card | Circulation ProceduresRegistration
ALL patrons of The Library of Virginia must register to use books from our closed stacks. Persons 18 years of age or older (or 16 or 17 years of age with written parental consent) may obtain a library card. Residents of Virginia with valid registrations may borrow circulating library materials and access many of our subscription databases remotely. The Library is unable to issue remote library cards to out-of-state residents due to licensing agreements for digital content. Non-Virginia residents must register in person.
Photo identification, proof of residence and current address are required. Failure to provide proof of current residence within 90 days will result in loss of borrowing privileges. It is the patron's responsibility to inform us of changes in address or residence.
Options for Virginia Residents
Residents of Virginia may also register for a library account online.
Online registrations require a valid state issued driver's license or identification card. Users who register online may use their driver's license or state ID # to gain immediate remote access to the Library's subscription databases and catalog features requiring login; online registrants will not receive a Library card unless they visit the Library in person. When registering online please enter the entire Customer Identifier from your state issued card in the ID field of the online application form.
Library staff will validate user name, address and identification number against Virginia's DMV database to confirm Virginia residency. Submission of false or faulty information will result in suspension of privileges.
Virginia residents who do not register online must register in person at the Library.
Library Card Application Forms
A fee of $5.00 is charged to replace lost cards.
Note: Patrons visiting the Archives Research Room to use archival collection material should be aware of the Policies and Procedures governing the use of archival materials. The Archives Research Room is open from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Saturday.
Library Card Renewal
Residents of Virginia may renew their Library account using our online renewal form or in person. To renew your Library of Virginia account online, we require a valid Virginia state issued driver's license or identification card. Library staff will validate the information provided against Virginia's DMV database to confirm Virginia residency. Submission of false or faulty information will result in suspension of privileges. Non-Virginia residents must renew in person.
The loan period is 28 days for circulating materials. Serials, microfilm, microfiche, materials published prior to 1926, reference, and selected materials are non-circulating. Microfilm and microfiche are circulated through ILL only. It is at the Library's discretion to designate materials as non-circulating due to policy, age, condition, or special circumstances.
A registered patron must present a valid library card to check out materials. For those patrons without a valid card, borrowing privileges will be limited to three items with proper identification. After three visits using identification, purchase of a replacement card is required.
There is a limit of 15 total items that may be checked out per patron at any one time.
Patrons who owe fines or have overdue materials will not be allowed to check out additional items.Renewals
Circulating material may be renewed one time for 28 days from the date of the renewal. At the end of the renewal period, items must be returned to the Library of Virginia collection for two weeks prior to a second checkout period by the same patron.
Materials may be renewed by phone at 804-692-3547, online using "My Account," or in person.
Items on reserve may not be renewed.
A Library of Virginia card is required in order to make photocopies or printouts. The card can be used with the photocopy machines, microform printers, computer print stations, and wireless printing on personal laptops.
A fine of 25 cents per day (including Sundays) per item is charged on overdue items. State holidays are excluded. A fee of $25.00 is charged for all returned checks.Reserve Policy
Material currently in circulation may be placed on reserve for registered patrons. Patrons will be contacted by telephone, email, or mail when the reserved material is available. Reserved material will be held at the circulation desk for two weeks. Microfilm on reserve is held for two days.
Access Services Manager
The Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219-8000