Rockbridge County

Formation Date: 1778
Formed From: Augusta and Botetourt Counties. Additional part of Botetourt County was added in 1785.

Image depicting location of Rockbridge County
Rockbridge County was named for Natural Bridge, an exceptional rock formation located in the county. The county was formed from Augusta and Botetourt counties in 1778, and another part of Botetourt was added later. The area is 604 square miles, and the county seat is Lexington. The population is 20,808 according to the 2000 census.

Original Records at The Library of Virginia: Yes

facebook twitter flicker youtube tumbler tumbler pinterest instagram view more