[search options]

Annual Library of Virginia Literary Awards

2008 Literary Awards

The Library is proud to host the Annual Library of Virginia Literary Awards as a way of thanking the Virginia authors whose works have enriched our lives and filled our libraries. The Library of Virginia Literary Awards are presented to outstanding Virginia authors in the areas of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.  (The nonfiction category includes any author whose book is about a Virginia subject.)  There are also People’s Choice Awards for fiction and nonfiction, as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award to recognize outstanding and long-lasting contributions to literature by a Virginian. Two additional prestigious awards -- the Carole Weinstein Poetry Prize and the Art in Literature: The Mary Lynn Kotz Award -- are presented at the Library's annual Literary Awards Celebration each fall.

The awards are juried with winners in each category receiving a cash prize and an engraved crystal book. The winners are announced at the Library’s Annual Literary Awards Celebration with the support of presenting sponsor Dominion. The Literary Awards Celebration at the Library of Virginia features cocktails and seated dinner with the nominated authors. Tickets to the Awards Celebration are $175 per person. The Literary Luncheon at the Richmond Convention Center is a seated luncheon with a question and answer session with Lifetime Achievement honoree Jan Karon. Tickets to the Luncheon are $55 for LVA members, and $65 for nonmembers.

Nominations for the 2015 Literary Awards closed February 12. Finalists will be announced in August 2015 for the Literary Awards Celebration ceremony on October 17, 2015. Please contact the Library of Virginia Foundation for ticket information to the event.

Nominations for the 2016 Literary Awards are now being accepted through February 12, 2016. You can nominate an author online.