Library of Virginia Literary Awards

2008 Literary Awards

In 1997, the Library of Virginia established its annual Literary Awards program to honor Virginia writers and celebrate their contributions to the literary landscape of our state and nation. Given to Virginia authors in the categories of fiction and poetry—and to nonfiction authors for works about a Virginia subject as well—the awards are presented at an annual gala celebration that has become the Library’s signature event and an eagerly anticipated cultural tradition in Richmond. While the main award recipients are selected by independent panels of judges, the Library also invites book lovers and readers to vote for their favorite works for the People’s Choice Awards for Fiction and Nonfiction. In the past, the Library has also bestowed a Literary Lifetime Achievement Award to recognize the enduring influence of an outstanding Virginia writer, with past winners including Earl Hamner, Lee Smith, Jan Karon, Tom Robbins, Charles Wright, Barbara Kingsolver, Rita Dove, John Grisham, Tom Wolfe, and David Baldacci.

The Library also partners each year with the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts to present the Art in Literature: The Mary Lynn Kotz Award for an outstanding literary work with art or works of art as its primary subject. Learn more here.

Nominations are now closed for the 2021 Literary Awards; finalists will be announced by August 1st.

The nomination form and submission instructions for the 2021 Art in Literature: Mary Lynn Kotz Award (books published in 2020) is found here and nominations will be accepted through March 15, 2021.

We will begin accepting nomination submissions for the 2022 Literary Awards (books published in 2021) in March; check back here for details and nomination submission forms.

Online voting for the 2021 People's Choice Awards will begin in the summer. Please check back here for the list of finalists and for the link to vote online.

The 24th Annual Library of Virginia Awards Celebration will be celebrated on Saturday, October 16, 2021. Sponsorship information will be available later this spring.

facebook twitter youtube instagram view more